Champions for Biotech Education Awards

2022 Champions for Biotechnology Education Awards Reception

The 7th Annual Champions for Biotechnology Education Awards Reception will be on October 27, 2022, 6:00pm-9:00pm at the Museum of Science. Join us to celebrate outstanding advocacy for science education and workforce development, network, and honor the 2022 awardees for their contributions to sustaining a talented life sciences workforce!

Use code ‘CHAMPS22-GA‘ or ‘CHAMPS22-NP‘ for a 15% discount until September 9, 2022.


The Champions for Biotechnology Education Awards Reception celebrates outstanding advocacy for, and contributions to, life sciences education in Massachusetts. Each year, MassBioEd honors an organization, an educator, and a school for their commitment to fostering science literacy and advancing life sciences education. We also award a student with a scholarship to be used towards their life sciences field of study. The Educator Award and Student Scholarship Award are supported by the Henri A. Termeer Foundation in honor of Henri A. Termeer and his commitment to scientific discovery and mentorship of aspiring and accomplished scientists. The Joshua Boger Innovative School of the Year Award is supported by the Joshua Boger Family Foundation and named after Joshua Boger to recognize his sustained commitment to excellence in science education.

The Champions Reception is MassBioEd’s annual fundraiser, raising funds to support our programs to build a strong and diverse life sciences workforce. Sponsors can join their community in honoring awardees for dedication to empowering students to enter careers in the life sciences.

Interested in sponsoring the 2022 Awards Reception? View our 2022 Sponsorship Prospectus and contact for more information.

Thank You to Our 2022 Sponsors

Catch up on the 6th Annual Champions Awards Reception and 20th Anniversary Celebration

Past Awardees

Champion StudentsHenri A. Termeer Student Scholarship

  • Rim Bozo, Pioneer Charter School of Science & Dartmouth College (2021)
  • Camila Wendorff, Framingham State University & MassBay Community College (2020)

Champion EducatorsHenri A. Termeer Teacher Award

  • Stacey Chapley, Frontier Regional High School (2021)
  • Sarah Goldberg, New Mission High School (2020)
  • Dr. Laurie Jackson-Grusby, Brockton High School (2019)
  • Lindsey L’Ecuyer, Andover High School (2018)
  • Eric Leigh & David Enos, Gloucester High School (2017)
  • Jonathan Shapiro, Brockton High School (2016)

Champion SchoolsJoshua Boger Innovative School of the Year Award

  • Everett High School (2020-2021)
  • East Boston High School (2019-2020)
  • Innovation Academy Charter School (2018-2019)
  • Essex Technical High School (2017)
  • Hingham High School (2016)
  • Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School (2015)
  • Barnstable High School (2014)
  • Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School (2013)
  • Gloucester High School (2012)
  • Norton High School (2011)
  • Somerville High School (2010)
  • Bellingham High School (2009)

Champion Organizations

  • Bristol Myers Squibb (2021)
  • Biogen (2020)
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific (2019)
  • Takeda Pharmaceuticals (2018)
  • Sanofi Genzyme (2017)
  • EMD Serono (2016)

Early Champion Industry Leaders

  • Dr. John Maraganore, CEO, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals (2019)
  • Dr. Udit Batra, CEO, MilliporeSigma (2018)
  • Dr. Jeffrey Leiden, President & CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals (2017)
  • Michael Bonney, Former CEO, Cubist Pharmaceuticals & Partner, Third Rock Ventures (2016)