Innovative School of the Year

lab shot

The Joshua Boger Innovative School of the Year award was established by MassBioEd in 2010 to recognize a BioTeach high school that distinguished itself through exemplary educational programming in the life sciences.  Schools are evaluated on the depth and breadth of science educational programs, the effective application of the BioTeach curriculum, and for innovative biotechnology education and career programming to foster curiosity and inspire student interest in life sciences careers. 

Josh BogerJoshua Boger, Ph.D., is founder of Vertex Pharmaceuticals and is currently Executive Chairman at Alkeus Pharmaceuticals.  He is recognized as biotech industry leader in Massachusetts for his commitment to developing new medicines, as a patient advocate, and as a champion for science education. Dr. Boger is an active member of MassBio, recipient of the 2012 MassBio Henri Termeer Innovative Leadership Award, and a strong supporter of MassBioEd education programs.  In 2012, the Innovative School of the Year Award was named in honor of Dr. Boger to recognize his sustained commitment to excellence in science education.


Innovative School Award Recipients:

  • 2009 – Bellingham High School
  • 2010 – Somerville High School
  • 2011 – Norton High School
  • 2012 – Gloucester High School
  • 2013 – Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School
  • 2014 – Barnstable High School
  • 2015 – Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School
  • 2016  Hingham High School

Alexander McMahon talks about BioTeach